Posted: 4 weeks ago

Chance for Ulster four to stake their claim on Ireland Under-20 squad for Six Nations Women’s Summer Series in Italy

Ireland call: Sophie Barrett

FOUR Ulster players have made the Ireland Under-20  training squad (sponsored by PwC) for the Six Nations Women’s Summer Series, which will debut this July, in Parma, Italy.

Head Coach Niamh Briggs has named a 36-player Training Squad in preparation for the Six Nations Women’s Summer Series, including Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen RFC), Maebh Clenaghan (Queen’s University RFC), Abby Moyles (Blackrock College RFC) and Tara O’Neill (Cooke RFC) 
The 36 players have been selected for training camps at the IRFU High Performance Centre, before the final squad for Italy is named.

Starting on July 4, the format of the Women’s Summer Series will see three match days, on July 4, 9, and 14, with teams made up of predominately U-20 players, but with each Union able to select up to three U-23 players per matchday squad.

Hannah Wilson, Ivanna Kiripati, Ruth Campbell, Jane Neill, Karly Tierney, Kate Flannery, Clara Barret, Cara Martin and Abby Moyles all featured in last year’s Ireland U20 squad, who played Italy and Scotland, in July 2023.

Six players named in the training squad, featured in this year’s Energia AIL Final at Aviva Stadium including Player of the Match Chisom Ugwueru as well as Beth Buttimer, Brianna Heylmann, Faith Oviawe, Kate Flannery, and Éabha Nic Dhonnacha.

22 players named in the training squad played in the U18 WXV tournament in Wales in April and May this year. Along with 13 players featuring in last season’s Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial series for their provinces.

15 of the 36 players also featured in this year’s Celtic Challenge for the Clovers and Wolfhounds, while Ruth Campbell, Kiripati and Flannery were named in the Ireland training panel for the Guinness Six Nations.

Commenting on the training squad announcement, IRFU Women’s National Talent Squad and Talent Identification Manager, Katie Fitzhenry, said: “We’re delighted to name the training squad ahead of the summer series in Italy next month.

“It is a very exciting time for everyone involved and this is another important step for our Women’s Pathway, providing a platform for the further development of our best young players and exposing them to international rugby.”

IRELAND UNDER-20 WOMEN’S Training Squad (Six Nations Women’s Summer Series)


Sophie Barrett – Enniskillen RFC/Ulster
Grainne Burke – Ennis RFC/Munster
Kelly Burke – Mullingar RFC/Leinster
Beth Buttimer – UL Bohemian RFC/Munster
Ruth Campbell – Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster
Maebh Clenaghan – Queens University RFC/Ulster
Olivia Constable – Gloucester Hartpury /IQ Rugby
Saoirse Crowe – Shannon RFC/IQ Rugby
Poppy Garvey – Sligo RFC/Connacht
Aoibheann Hahessy – Ennis RFC/Munster
Brianna Heylmann – UL Bohemian RFC/Munster
Ivana Kiripati – American International College/Connacht
Roisin Maher – Galwegians RFC/Connacht
Amanda McQuade – Ealing Trailfinders/IQ Rugby
Lily Morris – Kilarney RFC/Munster
Eadoin Murtagh – Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster
Jane Neill – Galwegians RFC/Leinster
Cliodhna Ni Chonchobhair – Blackrock College RFC/Leinster
Faith Oviawe – Railway Union RFC/Connacht
Karly Tierney – UL Bohemian RFC and Tuam-Oughterard RFC/Connacht
Hannah Wilson – Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster


Clara Barrett – UL Bohemian RFC/Connacht
Ellen Boylan – Carrick on Suir RFC/Munster
Hannah Clarke – Tuam/Oughterard RFC/Connacht
Kate Flannery – UL Bohemian RFC/Munster
Jade Gaffney – Navan RFC/Leinster
Niamh Gallagher – Saracens / IQ Rugby
May Goulding – Hartpury College / IQ Rugby
Lucia Linn – Loughborough University/ IQ Rugby
Cara Martin – Blackrock College RFC/Leinster
Abby Moyles – Blackrock College RFC/Ulster
Éabha Nic Dhonnacha – UL Bohemian and Tuam-Oughterard RFC/Connacht
Robyn O’Connor – Wexford Wanderers RFC/Leinster
Tara O’Neill – Cooke RFC/Ulster
Ellie O’Sullian/Sexton – Mullingar RFC/Leinster
Chisom Ugwueru – UL Bohemian RFC/Munster


England v Ireland, Thursday, July 4, kick off 6.30pm local time/5.30pm Irish time
Ireland v Italy, Tuesday, July 9, kick off 10am local time/9am Irish time
Ireland v Scotland, Sunday, July 14, kick off 10am local time/9am Irish time